JUDICIAL PANEL UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT GOVERNMENT THE OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY

DEVIN BILSKI and REAGAN BROOKS

Plaintiffs

v.

ANDREW JACKSON and SOPHIE CHANG,

Defendants

22 March 2017

In the matter of *Bilski & Brooks vs. Jackson & Chang*, the plaintiff alleges that the defendants have violated *Article II Section A Subsection 2 Subsection f* of the Undergraduate Student Government Election Bylaws.

Election Bylaws

II.A.2.f

"The Judicial Panel reserves the right to name areas off-limits for campaigning. No campaigning may be done in these areas. This is a type II bylaw."

The campaign of Andrew Jackson and Sophie Chang has allegedly violated Article II. Section A. Subsection 2.f of the 2017 USG Election Bylaws. Originally, the plaintiffs argued that II.A.2.d was violated. However, during the hearing, which was held on March 22, 2017, it was agreed upon that II.A.2.f ("The Judicial Panel reserves the right to name areas off-limits for campaigning. No campaigning may be done in these areas. This is a type II bylaw") was actually the bylaw that may have been violated. On the night of March 8th, members of the Jackson & Chang team were allegedly present in Smith-Steeb and approached at least four students asking them to vote for Andrew and Sophie et al and presenting them with "palm cards."

The four students have provided witness statements regarding the events of that evening. The "Off Limit Areas" determined by the Judicial Panel states "4. ANY ACADEMIC AREAS (SOME EXAMPLES: CLASSROOMS "WITHOUT DIRECT PERMISSION OF INSTRUCTOR", STUDY AREAS, ETC.)" These four students were approached while studying in common areas in the Smith-Steeb Residence Hall.

Additionally, Andrew and Sophie's team allegedly campaigned in Park-Stradley and Morrill Tower on the same evening, as suggested by "screenshot" evidence of a presumed Jackson & Chang campaign GroupMe.

Held: The Judicial Panel finds that the defendants are in violation of Article II Section A Subsection 2 Subsection f in the Election Bylaws on four (4) counts. The bylaw clearly states that campaigning is not permitted in designated "off limit areas." Per the list of "Off Limit Areas" document, which can be found on usg.osu.edu, "study areas" are noted as being off limits for campaigning.

Although the defendants argued that they did not violate the "Residence Hall Campaigning Policy," which can also be found on usg.osu.edu, the Panel holds the opinion that members of the Jackson & Chang slate campaigned in "study areas," which are noted as off limits. The defendants also argued that their slate members were simply campaigning in common areas, not specifically designated as "study areas." However, these spaces are well known to be areas of study, which even include large whiteboards for academic use. The Panel strongly believes that no student should be disrupted from their studies for matters of campaigning, especially in their place of residence. It should also be noted that the candidates were handing out "palm cards," not posting

As Written By Chief Justice Connor Greenwood

unauthorized "fliers" on residence hall walls and bulletin boards.

The Judicial Panel finds that Jackson & Chang are not found responsible for an alleged fifteen (15) violations in Park-Stradley, and three (3) violations in Morrill Tower, of illegally campaigning in residence halls. The "Residence Hall Campaigning Policy" contains three specific guidelines, none of which the Panel found Jackson & Chang to be in violation of. There was little evidence, no witnesses, and no complaints comprising from these supposed eighteen (18) individuals.

The Judicial Panel orders that the defendants, Jackson & Chang, receive a fifty (50) dollar fine for each count they were found in violation. Therefore, since there were four (4) counts, a total fine of two-hundred (200) dollars shall be fined to the defendants. Per IV.A.1, this amount must be deducted from the defendants' campaign spending limit, as denoted on the Campaign Value Report (CVR).

It is so ordered.

Signed: The Judicial Panel

Majority:

Chief Justice Connor Greenwood Justice Seth Lamp, Presiding Justice Benjamin O. Allen Justice Justin Stover Justice Nasra Warsame