



115 Independence Hall 1923 Neil Ave. 419-755-4118 Phone

https://senate.osu.edu/diversity-committee

March 9, 2020

University Student Government c/o Kate Greer greer.219@osu.edu

Dear USG Executive Committee Members,

Thank you for reaching out to the University Senate's Diversity Committee to inform us of the effort to rename Bricker Hall. It is deeply troubling to this committee that a building at The Ohio State University that houses so many of its important offices, including the President and the Provost, is named for someone who actively promoted racial segregation while Attorney General of the State of Ohio. We believe that the honor bestowed on individuals by naming of buildings should reflect the University's core values and ideals of inclusive excellence.

We hope that this effort will create opportunities for the University to foster dialogue regarding our past and present-day treatment of our historically underrepresented faculty, staff and students who have contributed tremendous gifts and intellect to our university community. The University's sesquicentennial year strikes this committee as an appropriate moment to critically examine our past and chart a new future course to dismantle the legacies of institutionalized racism and oppressions associated with our University's— and our nation's— difficult history.

We ask, therefore, that naming honors be seriously reviewed and historical wrongs (and contradictory actions) be acknowledged, which may result in the removal of building names. Members of this committee will be willing to participate in this process.

Sincerely,

Rachel E. Bowen

Dr. Rachel E. Bowen, 2019-2020 Chair Bowen.208@osu.edu

On behalf of the 2019-2020 Senate Diversity Committee:

Katherine Betts, Intercultural Specialist Multicultural Center

Rachel Bowen, Associate Professor Political Science Mansfield Campus

Sara Childers, Director Strategic Diversity Planning, Training, & Assessment Office of Diversity and Inclusion Ajit Choudhari, Associate Professor Health and Rehabilitation Sciences College of Medicine



## **University Senate Diversity Committee**

115 Independence Hall 1923 Neil Ave. 419-755-4118 Phone

https://senate.osu.edu/diversity-committee

Patricia Enciso, Professor Teaching and Learning College of Education and Human Ecology Ehsan Estiri, Graduate Student Near Eastern Languages and Culture

Eugenia Costa-Giomi, Professor School of Music

Fareedah Haroun, Student College of Optometry

Russell Hassan, Associate Professor John Glenn College of Public Affairs Roaya Higazi, Undergraduate Student City and Regional Planning

Jane Jackman, Professor Chemistry and Biochemistry Glenn Martinez, Professor

Department of Spanish and Portuguese

Andrej Rotter, Professor Pharmacology College of Medicine Megan Sayres, Program Director of Professional Studies College of Pharmacy

James Moore III (ex officio)
Vice Provost and Chief Diversity Officer

Linette Hillis (ex officio, non-voting) Associate Vice President Office of Human Resources

Cc: Michael V. Drake, University President
Bruce McPheron, University Provost
Gary R. Heminger, Chair of the Board of Trustees
Sharon Schweikhart, Faculty Council Chair
Ben Givens, University Senate Secretary