JUDICIAL PANEL

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT GOVERNMENT

THE OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY

Amjad Almuti

Plaintiff

V.

Daizhon Cox & Michael Ward

Defendants

19 February 2025

As Written By Justice Ethan Moore

In the matter of *Almuti v. Cox & Ward*, the plaintiffs allege that the defendants violated *Article IV*, *Section D, Subsection b, Article II, Section B, Subsection vii, and Article II, Section B, Subsection viii* of the Undergraduate Student Government Election Bylaws.

Election Bylaws

IV.D.b

"Candidates may not knowingly falsify any documents submitted to the Judicial Panel at any time."

II.B.vii

"Candidates and candidate teams may not engage in acts of harassment or intimidation against other candidates."

II.B.viii

"Using social media for direct intimidation is a clear violation."

Held: On the count of *Article IV, Section D, Subsection b* of the Undergraduate Student Government Election Bylaws, the Judicial Panel is unable to try the defendants because they have already been tried for violating this bylaw, making it a case of double jeopardy. Since they have already been disqualified after being found in violation of *Article IV, Section D, Subsection b*, we cannot prosecute them again for the same bylaw infraction.

For *Article II, Section B, Subsection vii* of the Undergraduate Student Government Election Bylaws, the Judicial Panel cannot rule at this time because this bylaw was improperly cited in the complainant's briefing. While there may be similar sections in the Undergraduate Student Government Election Bylaws, *Article II, Section B, Subsection vii* is not found in the current bylaws. This improper citation prevents us from making a ruling.

For *Article II, Section B, Subsection viii* of the Undergraduate Student Government Election Bylaws, the Judicial Panel cannot rule at this time because the bylaw does not exist. Furthermore, there are no bylaws regarding the misuse of social media mentioned at any point in the Undergraduate Student Government Election Bylaws.

It is so ordered.

Signed: The Judicial Panel

As Written By Justice Ethan Moore

Majority:

Chief Justice Ethan Moore (Presiding)
Justice Emily Doucette
Justice Judith Vega
Justice Ryan Buchko
Justice Sean O'Brien