A Resolution to Formulate the 2023-24 Constitution and Bylaws Review Commission and to Confirm Committee Nominations

Vice President Madison Mason (for herself) introduced the following resolution to the Oversight Committee where it passed. Then, to the floor where it passed.

* * *

Whereas the Undergraduate Student Government represents all undergraduate students at The Ohio State University; and

Whereas Article VIII of the Undergraduate Student Government Constitution states "In years ending with two or seven, or prematurely under special circumstances, a Constitution and Bylaws Review Commission (CBRC) shall be formed."; and

Whereas the Constitution dictates that the CBRC must consist of at least seven members, with membership including at least one representative from the General Assembly, the Executive Cabinet, the Judicial Panel, and an undergraduate student who has never been a member of Undergraduate Student Government; and

Whereas the members of the CBRC shall be appointed by the Vice President, who will act as the committee chair, and confirmed by the General Assembly by a two-thirds vote; and

Whereas each of the members chosen to represent the committee have gone through multiple rounds of interview including a written application available to the entire student body; and

Whereas the CBRC has been delayed by two years, resulting in the dire need for this committee to be established in a timely manner to maintain the upkeep of the Constitution; and

Whereas all proposed changes will be brought to the General Assembly for approval; and

Whereas Vice President Madison Mason has nominated the following candidates to be members of the CBRC: Bailey Haller, Ian Logan, Regina Loayza, Alex Poling, Angela Harper, Trayce Cowgill, and Julius McIntyre.

Therefore, Let it Be Resolved that the 56th General Assembly formally establishes the 2023-24 Constitution and Bylaws Review Commission; and

Let it Further Be Resolved that the 56th General Assembly officially names Bailey Haller, Ian Logan, Regina Loayza, Alex Poling, Angela Harper, Trayce Cowgill, and Julius McIntyre as official voting members of the committee; and

Let it Further Be Resolved that the Constitution and Bylaws Review Commission commits themsles to transparency and will work on bringing their proposed changes to the general assembly in a swift and timely manner.

Floor Vote: Aye: 30 Nay: 0 Abstain: 0 Present: 30	
Bobby McAlpine	Alex Poling
President	Speaker of the 56th General Assembly
Date Adopted: November 29 th , 2023	Date Terminated: